The One I Love (Watashi no Sukinahito)

Created by: CLAMP
Publisher: TokyoPop
Volumes: 1
Genre: Romance

“Even as an adult (although I’m still a kid inside), I don’t understand what cute truly means.”

The lovely females at CLAMP bring us the adoring short story collection titled Watashi no Sukinahito. This is a very slim 130 page manga, but inside, the creators share twelve short stories centered around—yes, you guessed it—love. Each story is a mere seven pages long, which is more than enough to get the main idea through the reader. The stories go over topics that one may come across in a relationship. These topics concern insecurities, long distance relationships, age differences, and marriage. Each story is followed by a short essay by CLAMP’s team leader, Nanase Ohkawa. The essay does three things: 1) It gives readers an idea of why the creators added the story, 2) gives readers a chance to know a little background of the CLAMP team experiences, and 3) has the reader think about their own experiences and feel like they can relate as well. You may have to read a bit more than you’re use to, but the essays are indeed worth reading.

The following is a very brief description of the stories in Watashi no Sukinahito:
(Note: The individual stories in the manga are called scenes)

Scene 1 – Different (Chigau): Discusses about how people wish to be someone else.
Scene 2 – Cute (Kawaii): Questions the meaning about the uses of the word “cute.”
Scene 3 – I Miss You (Aitai): A young girl feels insecure when her lover spends more time at work than with her.
Scene 4 – A Younger Man (Toshishita): Talks about how the barriers of age differences in a relationship.
Scene 5 – Suddenly (Totsuzen): Shows how people can “suddenly” fall in love with someone.
Scene 6 – Together (Isshoni): Tells how people go out of their way to share a common interest with their loved one.
Scene 7 – Pretty (Kirei): Which matters most? Being pretty or feeling pretty?
Scene 8 – Insecure (Fuan): This story just tells about the overall feeling of insecurity.
Scene 9 – Courage (Yûki): Valentine’s Day is a pretty big holiday in Japan, and this story involves the Valentine tradition of girls giving chocolate and working up the courage to tell someone they love them.
Scene 10 – Normal (Fûtsu): A simple story about how relationships can stay the same, even after a wedding ceremony.
Scene 11 – Apart (Hanareru): Talks about the worries of people in long-distance relationships.
Scene 12 – Marriage (Kekkon): And finally, a cute story about staying a “couple” even after marriage.

The artwork, for lack of a better description, is typically CLAMP-style—Bright settings, beautiful people, little backgrounds, and chibis. Click below for previews.

Preview 1 | Preview 2

The book is slim, and may look pricey compared to other manga, but inside it includes 10 color pages drawn on very fine paper. The paper does make a difference. The artwork and packaging will make it worth the price. If you’re a lover of CLAMP’s work or a sucker for romance, then I would really recommend picking up Watashi no Sukinahito. If you have been in a serious relationship, then this manga may hit those soft spots of yours. When you pick it up and find that you can relate to the situations in it, then you’ll know the manga was made just for people like you.

By Bounty Huntress


Comments are closed.

Work in progress... not home!
Trying to get all/most of the new code working before I start on the eyecandy.